Area counties to receive disaster assistance

Emergency loans for farmers, ranchers and operators are available through the Fayette County and McNairy County offices of the Farm Service Agency. Farm Service Agency’s State Executive Director, Eugene Davidson, said this authority is pursuant to President Obama’s declaration on August 13, of a major disaster in Tennessee, caused by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding, which occurred from June 5 through June 10. As a result of this major disaster. McNairy County, as a primary county, and Chester, Fayette, Hardeman, Hardin and Shelby counties as contiguous counties in Tennessee, is named as an area eligible for Federal disaster assistance pursuant to the provisions of Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act.  To view more, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.